PSRS Lifetime Research Achievement

/PSRS Lifetime Research Achievement
PSRS Lifetime Research Achievement 2017-05-19T19:45:19+00:00

The Lifetime Research Achievement Award was created in 2013 by the Philadelphia Spine Research Society (PSRS) to honor an investigator who has established him/herself with sustained and long-lasting contributions in the area of spine research. The award is given biannually when the Society holds its International Research Symposium in Philadelphia. The first recipient of this award was Professor Irving Shapiro, the Anthony and Gertrude DePalma Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Director of Orthopaedic Research at Thomas Jefferson University. The award continues today with a generous sponsorship by the Shapiro Family Trust.

The PSRS, founded in 2004, was set up to bring together members of the Greater Philadelphia community of basic scientists, bioengineers and spine surgeons concerned with studies of the intervertebral disc and the associated spinal tissues. Over the last decade, the PSRS has broadened its reach to include a truly global community of researchers interested in the intervertebral disc and spine.

Deadline for nominations: September 1, 2017

This prestigious award carries an honorarium of $1000 and a commemorative plaque. The winner must be present at the International Philadelphia Spine Research Symposium to accept the award and deliver a lecture in Fall that year.

  • Nominations for this award must be received by the Awards Committee of the Philadelphia Spine Research Symposium by September 1 of the calendar year
  • The complete package must be prepared by a nominator on behalf of the nominee and submitted to the Chair of the Awards Committee by email
  • The nominator must supply a brief paragraph (< 200 words) describing the major research accomplishments of the nominee
  • The nominator must supply the names of no less than two individuals willing to provide a letter of recommendation
  • The nominator must supply a full curriculum vitae (NIH biosketches will not be accepted).

Deadline for nominations: September 1, 2017

The Awards Committee shall consist of four individuals representing clinical, biological and engineering disciplinary aspects of spine research.  The Awards Committee shall receive all nominations and come forward with a single nominee to receive the award by October 1 of the calendar year.

2017 Awards Committee

Lori Setton, PhD, Chair

Neil Malhotra, MD

Peter Roughley, PhD

Irving Shapiro, BDS, PhD

Past Award Winners:

Irving M. Shapiro, BDS, PhD (2013)

Peter Roughley, PhD (2015)

Powered by