About the Award

The William H. Harris, MD Award is given to an individual based on the quality and scientific merit of a paper accepted for publication in the Journal of Orthopaedic Research®. The topic of the paper must be related to basic and/or clinical research involving the hip. All types of research related to hip reconstructive surgery (i.e. biological, mechanical, clinical, etc.) are appropriate topics for the paper.

The award carries a $5,000 honorarium that will be paid to the individual receiving the award and a plaque. The Harris Award is sponsored by the Harris Fellows Club.

The Call for Submissions is Now Closed.


  • Honorarium of $5,000
  • Commemorative plaque

The winner must be present at the ORS Annual Meeting to accept the award.


The Harris Award is given to an individual based on the quality and scientific merit of their accepted paper in the Journal of Orthopaedic Research® on the topic of basic and/or clinical research involving the hip. To be eligible for the award, you must be

  • The primary (lead) author of the paper
  • Under 45 years of age
  • An ORS member* in good standing
  • Have not previously received Harris Award

*Note: If you are not a member of the ORS, but would like to apply to be eligible for this award, visit our membership section of the website for an application. Thank you for your interest.


Authors may indicate their interest in applying for the award at time of manuscript submission to the Journal of Orthopaedic Research®. Manuscripts accepted between September 1 of the prior year and August 31 of the award year will be considered. Shortlisted authors will be contacted to confirm eligibility and continued interest.

The contributions of William H. Harris, MD, to total hip replacement are vast and range from the identification of the nature of osteolysis to the development of surgical techniques and implants. He invented the cement gun which replaced finger packing and improved cementing technique. He designed the first modular metal-backed acetabular component, which gave surgeons the ability to replace the polyethylene liner without having to remove the entire component. Dr. Harris successfully performed the first total hip replacement in a patient with a total congenital dislocation of the hip. In addition, he designed implants specifically for these patients. Today, these procedures are no longer unusual.

He performed one of the first femoral head autograft procedures and one of the first femoral head allograft procedures: two techniques that are now widely used. Along with his colleagues at Massachusetts General Hospital, Harris was the first to centrifuge cement. Designed by Dr. Harris, the Total System, introduced in 1983, was the first integrated system providing an entire range of cemented and cementless implants. Dr. Harris is recognized throughout the medical world for his development of the Harris Hip Score, which rates a patient’s progress on pain and function following surgery. His work on surgical techniques, implant design, development of new operations, prevention of blood clot formation and other leading advances in total hip surgery are widely recognized.

Dr. Harris was one of the designers to create the first successful cementless acetabular component. This was the first time screws were put through the acetabular component to fix it to the skeleton. In addition, he is the designer of one of the most successful long-term femoral components. Dr. Harris was Chief of the Adult Reconstructive Surgery and Director of the Orthopedic Biomechanics and Biomaterials Laboratory of the Massachusetts General Hospital. He has been Clinical Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at the Harvard Medical School since 1974 and has been awarded the Alan Gerry Chair as Clinical Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Harris’ is now retired.

A founding member of The Hip Society of North America, Dr. Harris was also its first president. He went on to be a founding member of and president of the International Hip Society. The Hip Society granted Dr. Harris an unprecedented eight honorary awards for outstanding contributions to hip surgery, and he has twice won the prestigious Kappa Delta Award of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons for outstanding orthopedic research. Dr. Harris is the author of some 400 scientific publications and three textbooks dealing with hip surgery, arthritis and diseases of the skeleton.

2023 Jessica Goetz, PhD
2022 Michael Harris, PhD
2020 Divya Rani Bijukumar
2017 Isabelle Catelas, PhD
2016 Shunichiro Okazaki, MD, PhD
2015 Marco Caicedo, PhD
2014 Karan M. Shah, MSc
2013 Daniel Varin, MS
2012 Jonathan Rylander, MS
2011 Jacob Elkins, MS
2010 Kevin J Bozic, MD, MBA
2009 Nadim J. Hallab, PhD
2008 Markus A. Wimmer, PhD
2007 Andrew Gordon, B.Med. Sci, MB. ChB, MRCS
2006 Toru Moro, MD, PhD
2005 Brian Elmengaard, MD
2004 Takashi Nishii, MD
2003 Edward M. Schwarz, PhD
2002 GE Elizabeth Pluhar, DVM, PhD
2001 John C. Clohisy, MD
2000 T. Parker Vail, MD
1999 Edward M. Greenfield, PhD
1998 Quanjun Cui, MD
1997 Douglas R. Pedersen, PhD

For more information contact Karey Hyland at [email protected].