We are pleased to announce the recipient of the 2024 Adele L. Boskey, PhD Award: 

Alayna Loiselle, PhD
Dr. Loiselle is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation, Biomedical Engineering, and Pathology & Laboratory Medicine at the University of Rochester Medical Center (URMC). Her research programs span from fundamental cell biology of tendon homeostasis and healing to clinical studies using non-invasive imaging approaches to develop personalized treatment strategies to improve tendon healing outcomes. She also directs the NIH/NIAMS P30-supported Histology, Biochemistry and Molecular Imaging Core in the Center for Musculoskeletal Research at URMC, is MPI of the T32 Training in Musculoskeletal Science, and is a standing member of the NIH Skeletal Biology Structure & Regeneration (SBSR) Study Section. In 2014 she was awarded the Goldner Pioneer Award from the American Society for Surgery of the Hand, and in 2022 was awarded the Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award, the highest early career award, from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.

About the Award

Named for Adele L. Boskey, PhD, this award is annually given to a mid-career (between 10 and 20 years beyond their PhD, MD, DVM) ORS member in good standing who has made significant contributions to the mentorship of rising scientists, engineers, and/or clinician/scientists in the fields of orthopaedics and musculoskeletal science and engineering.  Emphasis is given towards the awardee’s sustained commitment to mentorship and activities that advance diversity and inclusive excellence in these fields. The awardee should have also made significant research contributions and have demonstrated leadership or capacity for leadership in the field. This award is given in recognition of Dr. Boskey’s pioneering and seminal research contributions, her sustained commitment to mentorship throughout her decades-long career, and to the legacy of orthopaedic clinician/scientists, biologists, and engineering researchers and leaders that she launched.  The Award is sponsored by the Orthopaedic Research Society.


  • Honorarium of $5,000
  • Commemorative plaque

The winner must be present at the ORS Annual Meeting to accept the award.


The purpose of this award is to recognize a mid-career member of the ORS for outstanding and sustained commitment to mentorship as well as a demonstrated track-record of an upward trajectory and impactful research program.  The nominee must be an ORS member* in good standing, and would typically be not less than ten and not more than twenty years beyond their terminal degree (e.g., PhD, MD, DVM) at the time of nomination submission. Typically, an academic recipient will hold the status of associate professor consistent with peer recognition for contributions as an independent research-educator. In non-academic sectors, the recipient will typically demonstrate strong contributions in mentorship, practice, or leadership within appropriate positions in industry or medicine.


Submission package must include:

  • A letter of nomination, providing evidence of outstanding mentorship of pre-doctoral students and/or post-doctoral fellows, with special emphasis on the nominee’s substantive and on-going contributions to diversity and inclusive excellence in the fields of orthopaedics and musculoskeletal science and engineering. The letter should also document the strength and upward trajectory of the candidate’s research program and evidence of his/her demonstrated leadership or capacity for leadership.
  • A recent CV with a maximum of 5 pages of the nominee in support of the nomination letter.
  • Self nominations are not accepted for this award.
  • Applicants who are more than 20 years beyond their terminal degree (PhD, MD,  or DVM) are required to submit a brief statement explaining why they should still be considered for the award.

Nominations must be submitted by August 12, 2024

Adele L. Boskey, PhD, a crystallographer by training, was a pioneer and leader in the field of biomineralization.  She applied her expertise to advance both knowledge of fundamental musculoskeletal biology as well as clinical translation of that knowledge for the benefit of patients.   She received her BS in chemistry from Barnard College and her PhD from Boston University and launched her career with a post-doctoral fellowship at the Imperial College in London. Adele was a passionate and dedicated researcher for more than 45 years at The Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) in New York City, from 1972 to 2017. She was Director of Research at HSS from 1993 to 2002 and held the Starr Chair in Mineralized Tissue Research.

Dr. Boskey is best known for her contributions to our fundamental understanding of biomineralization and to our understanding of bone disorders such as osteoporosis and osteogenesis imperfecta. As evidence of her outstanding abilities and passion for research, she was continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health throughout her decades-long career. Many of her nearly 300 publications form a seminal and enduring body of literature on biomineralization.

Dr. Boskey was also an extraordinary mentor and leader.  She inspired and mentored untold numbers of students, residents, post-doctoral fellows, and new investigators, including clinician/scientists.  She was generous with her time and gracious with her constructive and valuable wisdom, be it about a scientific hypothesis or work-life balance, and everything in-between.

Dr. Boskey was the first woman to serve as president of the Orthopaedic Research Society.  She also furthered the advancement of diversity and inclusive excellence in the ORS by co-founding the Women’s Leadership Forum.  In all that she did, Dr. Adele Boskey set an extraordinary example through her quiet yet effective leadership that clearly and emphatically valued ethical behavior, equitable opportunity and respect for pursuit of the highest quality in musculoskeletal research.

For her scholarship, mentorship, and leadership, Dr. Adele L. Boskey was recognized with many of the highest honors that can be received in our field, including an AAOS/ORS Kappa Delta Award, the ORS/AAOS Alfred R. Shands, Jr. Award, the Lawrence G. Raisz Award of the ASBMR, the Distinguished Investigator Award of the ORS/OREF, and the Pioneer in Orthopaedics Award of the ORS.

2023Karen Troy, PhD
2022Nadeen Chahine, PhD
2021Kharma Foucher, MD, PhD
2020Robin Queen, PhD, FACSM, FIOR
2019Dawn Elliott, PhD

For more information, please contact Bria Douglas at [email protected]

We are happy to announce that the Adele L. Boskey Award is fully funded! 

Our goal was to raise $125,000 and it has been achieved through your generous donations and that of Dr. Boskey’s estate.  The award will continue to honor Dr. Boskey’s pioneering and seminal research contributions, her sustained commitment to mentorship, and to the legacy of orthopaedic clinician/scientists, biologists, and engineering researchers and leaders that she launched throughout her career.

Thank you to all those who made a donation to support the Adele L Boskey Award:

Andrea Alford
Tamara Alliston
Peter Amadio
Donna Astion
Chelsea Bahney
Gary Balian
Mary Barbe
Joan Bechtold
Mathias Bostrom
Anton Bowden
Barbara Boyan
Elizabeth Bradley
Richard Brand
Susan Bukata
David Burr
Albert Burstein
Julia Charles
Susanna Chubinskaya
Dwight Davy
Eve Donnelly
Dawn Elliott
Cornelia Farnum
Brenda Frederick
Xueqin Gao
James Iatridis
Lynne Jones
Natalie Kelly
Karen King
Kenneth Kozloff
Joseph Lane
Galyna Loughran
Suzanne Maher
Russell Main
Daniel McDonald
Elise Morgan
George Muschler
Ruth Ochia
Nancy Pleshko
Jeremy Rawlinson
Clare Rimnac
Linda Sandell
Rachel Seymour
Matthew Silva
Rick Sumner
Brittany Taylor
Peter Torzilli
Laura Tosi
Sophie Verrier
Jennifer Westendorf
Jennifer Woodell-May
Timothy Wright
Yaxia Zhang

Special thanks to Dr. Clare Rimnac for proposing an award be named for Dr. Adele Boskey.