We are pleased to announce the recipient of the 2024 Women’s Leadership Forum Award:

Sibylle Grad, PhD
Sibylle Grad is a Principal Scientist at the AO Research Institute Davos (ARI), Switzerland. She is the deputy Program Leader of the Regenerative Orthopaedics Program and the Focus Area Leader for intervertebral disc and cartilage biology. Sibylle Grad obtained her PhD in Natural Sciences from the Department of Cell Biology of the Federal Institute of Technology in Zürich (ETHZ), Switzerland. After completing her first post-doctoral training, she joined the AO Research Institute Davos. She has since then acquired extensive research expertise in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine with focus on cartilage and intervertebral disc repair and regeneration. Her projects include organ culture and bioreactor studies for the intervertebral disc, cell therapy, molecular therapy, circulating and tissue biomarkers; bioreactor loaded explant models for cartilage and osteochondral defects. Her expertise in advanced ex-vivo organ culture systems for studying both degeneration and repair is widely acknowledged in orthopedic research. Sibylle Grad is also a private docent with habilitation in Biomedical Engineering and course leader in the graduate program of the Department of Health Sciences and Technology of the ETHZ. She has obtained funding from many national and international agencies and has been section leader of several collaborative projects. She is a co-organizer of the ARI Orthopaedics Annual Conference; within ORS, she has served as RIG organizer, Spine Section Research chair, Intervertebral Disc Topic chair, Program Committee member, and is currently a member of the Career Development Committee. Her publication list includes more than 160 peer-reviewed articles.

About the Award

The Women’s Leadership Forum Award is given every year to recognize a woman biologist, clinician, or engineer who, throughout her professional lifetime, has made significant contributions to the understanding of the musculoskeletal system and musculoskeletal diseases and injuries. She will have also demonstrated outstanding leadership through service to the professional community and mentorship of colleagues and trainees.

Nominations will be reviewed by the ORS Awards and Recognition Committee


  • Honorarium of $500
  • Commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration to the Women’s Leadership Forum Reception

The winner must be present at the ORS Annual Meeting to accept the award.


  • Nominee must be an ORS member* in good standing
  • Nominations/applications packages for this award must be received by August 13 (self nominations are accepted).

*Note: If you are not a member of the ORS, but would like to apply to be eligible for this award, visit our membership section of the website for an application. Thank you for your interest.


Submission package must include:

  • Nomination Letter
  • Brief Letter Outlining Achievements
  • Nominee’s Full Curriculum Vitae (NIH biosketches will not be accepted.)

Only complete electronic submissions will be considered for review.

Deadline for nominations: The Call for Submissions is Now Closed.

2023Michele Marcolongo, PhD
2022Audrey McAlinden, PhD
2021Leesa Galatz, MD
2020Brigitte von Rechenberg ,Prof. Dr.med.vet., Dipl. ECVS
2019Tamara Alliston, PhD
2018Jennifer Westendorf, PhD
2017Susan Chubinskaya, PhD
2016Joan E. Bechtold, PhD
2015Marjolein van der Meulen, PhD
2014Mary Goldring, PhD
2013Clare Rimnac, PhD
2012Barbara Boyan, PhD
2011Martha Gray, PhD
2010Linda Sandell, PhD
2009Jo Hannafin, MD, PhD
2008Adele Boskey, PhD
2007Joan McGowan, PhD
2006Kate Vogel, PhD

For further information, please contact Karey Hyland at [email protected].

Learn more about the ORS Women’s Leadership Forum.