Saturday, February 8

Opening Session – Keynote Speaker
9:15 AM – 10:15 AM

Dr. Robert Langer

Robert Langer is one of 12 Institute Professors at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); being an Institute Professor is the highest honor that can be awarded to a faculty member. He has written nearly 1,500 articles, which have been cited over 300,000 times; his h-index of 272 is the highest of any engineer in history. He has more than 1,350 issued and pending patents worldwide. His patents have licensed or sublicensed to over 400 companies. He served as Chairman of the FDA’s Science Board (its highest advisory board) from 1999-2002. His over 220 awards include both the United States National Medal of Science and the United States National Medal of Technology and Innovation( he is one of 4 living individuals to have received both these honors), the Charles Stark Draper Prize (often called the Engineering Nobel Prize), Albany Medical Center Prize, Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, Kyoto Prize ,Wolf Prize for Chemistry, Millennium Technology Prize, Priestley Medal (highest award of the American Chemical Society), Gairdner Prize, Dreyfus Prize in Chemical Sciences, Maurice Marie-Janot Award, and the Lemelson-MIT prize, for being “one of history’s most prolific inventors in medicine.” He holds 34 honorary doctorates and has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Inventors.

Following his presentation, Dr. Langer will be available in the exhibit & poster hall for a meet and greet from 10:15 AM – 11:15 AM.

Sunday, February 9

Career & Scientific Achievement Awards & Presidential Address
9:15 AM – 10:15 AM

Presentation of Career Achievement Awards

Women’s Leadership Forum Award

Outstanding Achievement in Mentoring Award

Adele L. Boskey, PhD Award

ORS/OREF Distinguished Investigator

Scientific Achievement Awards & Presentations

Marshall R. Urist, MD Award

Arthur Steindler, MD Award Recipient

Margaret McQueen, MD, FRCSEd(Orth)

Professor Margaret McQueen graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1977 and also underwent her orthopaedic surgical training in Edinburgh. She was appointed as Senior Lecturer in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery of the University in 1987. In 1994 she was appointed as a Consultant Orthopaedic Trauma Surgeon to the first full-time orthopaedic trauma post in Scotland. She was the first woman in the UK to be awarded a chair in orthopaedic surgery in 2015.

Professor McQueen’s professional life has been dominated by the promotion of evidence-based medicine in orthopaedic trauma. In 1995 she was awarded an MD with distinction from the University of Edinburgh for her research into acute compartment syndrome. For this work she is the only non-American to have received the Edwin G. Bovill Award for outstanding clinical research by the American Orthopaedic Trauma Association. She has pioneered new techniques of management of distal radial fractures and her continuing work on the common osteoporotic fractures influences their management both nationally and internationally. With collaborators she is exploring the use of artificial intelligence in the prediction of fracture outcome.

Professor McQueen is a prolific contributor to peer-reviewed orthopaedic journals, has written four books and is the first female editor of Rockwood and Green’s “Fractures in Adults”.

James Iatridis, PhD, ORS President

Presidential Address

AAOS/Kappa Delta/OREF Paper Presentations
5:15 PM – 6:15 PM

Kristy L. Weber, MD, AAOS President

Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award

Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughan Award

Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award

OREF Clinical Research Award

Monday, February 10

9:15 AM – 10:15 AM

JOR Excellence and Early Career Awards

Stryker/ORS Women’s Research Fellowship

ORS/ON Foundation Orthoregeneration Award

ON Foundation Keynote Speaker: Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, PhD

Engineering Human Tissues to Cure Disease and Live Longer 

Tuesday, February 11

ORS Debate
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM

Endogenous Stem Cells are Superior to Ex Vivo Engineered Stem Cells for Musculoskeletal Tissue Repair

Rita Kandel, MD
Sinai Health System

Rocky Tuan, PhD
Chinese University of Hong Kong

For the Motion:
Robert Mauck, PhD
McKay Orthopaedic Research Laboratory, University of Pennsylvania

Against the Motion:
Johnny Huard, PhD
Steadman Philippon Research Institute

Closing Session
1:45 PM – 2:45 PM

New Investigator Recognition Awards (NIRA)

ORS Research Section Awards

ORS Business Innovation Competition Winners

Susan Chubinskaya, PhD, Incoming President

ORS Presidential Inauguration & Address